Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The Fredericksburg, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer Who Cares About You

Facing DWI charges? Michael & Associates has been winning DWI cases in Fredericksburg for years.

DWI Charges in Fredericksburg, TX are costly.
We're Your Best Defense.

Caught with a DWI in Fredericksburg?

Have you been charged with a DWI? You're undoubtedly stressed out as this is one of the most trying times a person can go through legally. Your reputation and financial future are on the line.

Surprisingly, you're not alone. DWI means driving while intoxicated - operating a vehicle while having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. It's actually one of the more frequent crimes in Fredericksburg.

No matter how frequent it is, neither the Texas state government or the Gillespie County court system treat folks charged with DWIs favorably. This is what we at Michael & Associates are here for - we'll help you out.

DWIs Can Put You in Jail and Cost Thousands of Dollars

Just because it's a common crime doesn't mean that a DWI in Fredericksburg can't ruin your life if you let it.

Here is a list of the possible penalties you'll face for a DWI conviction:

The 1st Offense: 

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 3 and 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

The 2nd Offense:

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 1 and 12 months in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

The 3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • A Felony on your record

On top of all these penalties, you can face enhanced charges depending on the circumstances of when you were pulled over. Being caught with a DWI while having a child onboard can lead to particularly harsh ones.

Don't Ruin Your Life by Accepting These Charges Without a Fight

There aren't just criminal penalties you'll be facing with a DWI. There's also social and further financial ones. You might lose your driver's license or, at the very least, face higher insurance rates. You might even find it difficult to find employment with a record.

DWIs aren't to be taken lightly.  You need a strong defense team to protect your future.

If you're being charged with a DWI in Fredericksburg, don't face this challenge alone. You need the best defense you can get. Hire a lawyer who knows what he or she is doing and who has a great win rate.

You Can Depend on Michael & Associates

We proudly serve the residents of the Polka Capital of Texas. The legal team here at Michael & Associates has been fighting DWIs in Fredericksburg, Gillespie County, and all of Texas for nearly a decade.

In Texas, we've represented hundreds of clients and won the majority of the cases by getting them dismissed or having their charges reduced.

We have one mission here: to provide our clients in Fredericksburg with the highest quality service in our great state. You're a VIP with us. We treat each case as if it were our own, so you know we'll fight as hard as humanly possible for you.

The larger firms in the area have only one thing going for them: they're a little cheaper. However, you get what you pay for. They treat you like a paycheck whereas with us, you get full access to our managing partner, Ben Michael, who will walk you through each step of this trying process.

You know you're taken care of at Michael & Associates. Fill out the contact form to schedule a free case review, and we'll start developing a defensive plan of action for your DWI right away.


If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Why we're the Right Fredericksburg DWI Lawyer for You

Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Recent DWI Cases in Fredericksburg

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Location: Fredericksburg, TX

Allegations: The client was pulled over by police for swerving when driving. They were taken to the police station and failed their sobriety test.

Result: The case was dismissed as we filed a motion to suppress evidence that had been illegally obtained.

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Location: Fredericksburg, TX

Allegations: Client had driven through a red light on an empty street when a police officer noticed them. They were pulled over and refused the sobriety tests offered. They failed the breathalyzer test at the police station after being taken in.

Result: Case Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Location: Fredericksburg, TX

Allegations: The client was taken into the police station after driving recklessly. They were given two sobriety tests.

Result: Case Dismissed

How a DWI Conviction Affects Auto Insurance Rates

In Fredericksburg, the average annual cost of car insurance is $780. For drivers with DWI convictions, the average annual cost of auto insurance is $1,123, an increase of $343.

Breakdown by Gender

Without DWI Conviction $828 $756
With DWI Conviction $1,192 $1,089
Increase $364 $333

Breakdown by Age

Without DWI Conviction $1,164 $684 $660 $612 $804 $576
With DWI Conviction $1,676 $985 $950 $881 $1,158 $829
Increase $512 $301 $290 $269 $354 $253

Don't Let a DWI Increase your Insurance Cost

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

We pride ourselves on two points at Michael & Associates: we treat our clients like kings and queens, and we ensure that they will receive the best possible outcome for their DWI charges.

We aren't like the other law firms in Fredericksburg. They promise you everything with a sweet price tag, but when it comes time to deliver on their promises, they fail. You're just one of many clients to them, and they'll treat you poorly. They are basically factories for criminal cases with poor win rates.

At Michael & Associates, we only take on the number of cases that we can handle most effectively while delivering the white-glove treatment. We represent you like we're fighting for our own family.

When you work with us, you will have access to Ben Michael day and night via his personal cell phone number.  You won't be dealing with a frustrating secretary who fails to pass your messages along to your attorney. Ben encourages you to call at anytime with any question you may have.

Ben isn't only available to answer your questions, he'll walk you through each part of the case and keep you comfortable throughout the whole process. We know this is an incredibly stressful time even for the toughest people, so we strive to make your case as painless as we possibly can.

Michael & Associates is happy to tackle nearly every type of case whether they're felony level or simply a misdemeanor, including the following:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

We do not take these types of cases:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

We are fully licensed to practice law all over the great state of Texas. At the moment, we provide coverage for cases in all counties from Austin to San Antonio.

Driving While Intoxicated in Fredericksburg

In Fritztown, Gillespie County, and the rest of Texas, you can be charged with a DWI if you are a Fredericksburger caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or above. The BAC is a measurement of the amount of alcohol that currently makes up your blood.

How do you know your BAC? You can't without taking a test. It's impossible to determine based on the number of drinks you've had as numerous factors influence the process. If someone is heavy and has a higher tolerance, their BAC might be lower after three cocktails compared to someone lighter in weight. The strength of the drink and the time that's passed since drinking also influence your BAC.

In Fredericksburg, you will be penalized based on the number of previous offenses you've had.

The First Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail with at least three being mandatory
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

The Second Offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

The Third and Further Offenses

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

You will be charged with enhanced penalties for driving with a child passenger, including but not limited to:

  • Additional fines up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

While being pulled over can be quite stressful, it is important for you to maintain a calm demeanor. First things first: pull your car over immediately and safely. Never try to flee from the police as they will catch you eventually, and you will be looking at more severe penalties.

When interacting with the officer, be sure you are polite and listen to their orders while protecting your rights. They will ask for proof of insurance, license, and registration. Be sure to provide these items in a slow, calm manner after first informing the officer where they are in the car.

Most officers will ask you if you know why you've been pulled over. If you reply with yes, this will make your case more difficult to defend as they need to have a justification for pulling you over. It is best to simply reply with "no sir" or "no ma'am."

It is within your rights to refuse both the field sobriety test and the preliminary breathalyzer test. It is in your best interest to refuse these tests if you think you have a chance of failing them. All you need to do is tell the officer that you don't feel comfortable taking the tests and tell them you'd like to speak with your attorney before taking any tests. Make sure you still remain polite and well-mannered in this interaction as you will most likely be on video.

It's possible for you to still be arrested if you show any signs of intoxication like slurring your speech, smelling like alcohol, or having red eyes. After being arrested, the next step will likely be taking a blood or breathalyzer test to find out your BAC. If you refuse these tests at this point, you may be subject to losing your license. If you fail the test, you may still be subject to losing your license. That is why it's best to get a lawyer to help you fight the charges.

Even if you refuse the test, the officer may be able to compel you to take it by obtaining a warrant. The good thing is that this takes time, so your BAC might lower in the meanwhile.

Never answer any questions or speak with the officers beyond what is absolutely necessary without your lawyer present as you may get tricked into hurting your case. Call your attorney as soon as you possibly can.

You should always fight any DUI or DWI charge. Even if you are proven to have been over the legal BAC while driving, you may still be able to have your case dismissed or at least have the charges reduced.

Helpful Locations for Fredericksburg Residents

Fredericksburg Courthouse
(830) 997-9935
103 Industrial Loop STE 1000
Fredericksburg, TX 78624

Fredericksburg Police Department
(830) 997-7585
1601 E Main St
Fredericksburg, TX 78624

Alcohol Treatment Facility
(540) 361-6189
11720 Main Street Suite 108
Fredericksburg, TX 22408

Department of Motor Vehicles
(830) 997-1932
125 West Main Street # L30
Fredericksburg, TX 78624

Call For Free Case Review
Scroll to Top