Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The Houston, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer Who Has Your Back

Charged with driving under the influence in Houston? Talk to an attorney who can help.

A DWI in Houston Can Empty Your Wallet.
We're On Your Team.

Being Charged with a DWI in the Houston area?

Nearly everyone who has been charged with a DWI says it is one of the most stressful experiences they've ever had.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is defined as having a blood alcohol content percentage of 0.08 or higher. Surprisingly, many people in Houston get charged with this.

While it's more common than you think, the state government of Texas and the Fort Bend County court system can be hostile to people who have made this mistake. It can lead to great difficulties in your life. That's why Michael & Associates is here.

A DWI is Costly and Can Lead to Jail Time

Since so many Houstonians get caught with DWIs, you might think that the penalties are light. 

Think again. You won't simply get a slap on the wrist.

Here are the penalties for DWI convictions in the Bayou City:

Your 1st Offense: 

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 3 and 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

Your 2nd Offense:

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 1 and 12 months in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

Your 3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • A Felony on your record

Think that's bad? The penalties go up much higher when you're caught with additional charges like driving with a child in the car.

Protect Your Future With The Best Help You Can Get

Not only are you looking at criminal penalties, but you can be punished in other ways. You could be looking at higher car insurance rates or even the loss of your driver's license. You will also face challenges finding new employment with a DWI on your record in Houston.

You shouldn't ignore your DWI charge and think it'll go away. It won't. You need the best defense possible.

If you're charged with a DWI, you don't have to go through the process alone. Get yourself the best defense attorney you possibly can.

Michael & Associates Is the Best Bet in Town

Why work with us at Michael & Associates? We've been fighting DWI cases all throughout Texas for almost a decade. We love to represent clients from H-Town.

All throughout Texas, we've fought hundreds of cases. We have a high win rate with the bulk of our cases either being dismissed outright or at least having charges reduced.

We set ourselves apart from the competition by providing a high-touch, white-glove DWI defense to our clients. This means that we'll treat your case as if it's the only one we have and put 100% of our effort into getting you the best results.

At other firms, you might get cheaper service, but it comes at a higher cost down the line when you lose your case and have to pay the full DWI fine amount. You're not just a number to us. Our managing partner, Ben Michael himself, will walk you through each step of fighting your DWI. Your comfort is our number one concern.

Don't add more stress to your plate by working with lesser attorneys. Michael & Associates has your back. Schedule a free case review today, and we will get to work immediately on designing the best DWI defense you can get.


If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Why we're the Right Houston DWI Lawyer for You


DWIs Resolved without Trial

Top 0

Ranked Texas DWI Lawyer


Years Combined Experience


Star Rating on Google


Rating on Thumbtack
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Recent DWI Cases

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Allegations: Client was driving erratically and was pulled over by the police. Client failed the field sobriety test, so he was taken to the police station.

Result: The case was dismissed after a motion was filed to suppress evidence that was obtained illegally.

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Allegations: Client was pulled over after failing to stop at a red light and swerving on the road. She refused the breathalyzer and was taken into custody after failing a field sobriety test. This was her second offense.

Result: Case Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Allegations: Client arrested after failing to yield and nearly hitting a street light.  Police administered both a breathalyzer and field sobriety test.

Result: Case Dismissed

How a DWI Conviction Affects Auto Insurance Rates

In Houston, the average annual cost of car insurance is $936. For drivers with DWI convictions, the average annual cost of auto insurance is $1,348, an increase of $412.

Breakdown by Gender

Without DWI Conviction $948 $912
With DWI Conviction $1,365 $1,313
Increase $417 $401

Breakdown by Age

Without DWI Conviction $1,464 $888 $840 $768 $696 $756
With DWI Conviction $2,108 $1,279 $1,210 $1,106 $1,002 $1,089
Increase $644 $391 $370 $338 $306 $333

Don't Let a DWI Increase your Insurance Cost

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

Michael & Associates stands apart from other firms in two major ways. Firstly, we give you the white-glove treatment. Secondly, we will get you the best outcome possible for your DWI case.

Cheap, mediocre lawyers are a dime-a-dozen. They promise you the world, but when it comes time to deliver on that promise, you'll find yourself hit with the full extent of the law. They see you simply as another paycheck for them to cash and only do the bare minimum to keep your money in their pockets.

Michael & Associates is different. We pride ourselves on our high standards, so we only take the number of cases we can handle with the utmost attention to detail and care.

If you join our team, you will get access to Ben Michael day or night. You get his personal cell phone number and can call at anytime with any questions you may have. The other attorneys in Houston? You'll be lucky if you get a call back from their secretary days later.

Ben Michael is here to walk you through each step of the DWI process. He is a professional who has done this hundreds of times. He also ensures that his clients feel at ease during one of the most stressful times in their lives.

Michael & Associates tackles nearly every type of case, felony or misdemeanor, including these:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

We do not handle:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

Driving While Intoxicated in Houston

In Houston, Fort Bend County, and throughout all of Texas, anyone who is caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) percentage of 0.08 or higher can be hit with a DWI charge. BAC is a type of measurement that determines how much of their blood is currently made up of alcohol.

It is hard to determine the amount of alcohol it takes to put you over the legal limit. It depends on a number of factors including weight, height, tolerance, strength of the drinks, gender, age, and the time passed between consuming drinks. It's not as simple as just two shots or three beers.

In the Houston area, the penalties vary based on how many offenses you have had. First offenses are less severe and your third, fourth, etc. offense will have much more serious consequences.

Your First Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail with at least three being mandatory
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

Your Second Offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

Your Third Offense

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

Further penalties may apply if driving with a child passenger, which include:

  • Additional fines up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

There is no simple formula to avoiding a DWI. However, these are some steps you can take to ensure a better time on your court date.

First things first, you will need to pull over somewhere safe. Do not try to flee or engage in a high speed pursuit. You will be caught and face harsher charges or, even worse, injure yourself or others.

When interacting with the officer, be on your best behavior even if they take a firm stance with you. They will first ask you for your license, registration, and proof of insurance. Be cooperative - tell the officer where these items are in your car and slowly, safely move to retrieve them.

The most common question you'll be asked after this is "do you know why you've been pulled over?" Your reply should be a simple "no ma'am" or "no sir" as the police need a solid justification for pulling you over. Do not help their case by harming yours.

You will likely be asked to take either a field sobriety test or a preliminary breathalyzer test. It is within your rights to refuse these, and it is the best idea to do so if you think your BAC is over the legal limit. To refuse them, all you need to do is politely let the officer know you don't want to take them and that you would like to speak with your attorney.

Always assume that you are being video recorded in your interactions with the police. Being on your best behavior will help your case if caught on video.

Even if you do everything correctly, you can still be arrested if you slur your speech, smell of alcohol, or have bloodshot eyes. Once you've been arrested, the police will ask you to take a blood or breath test so that your BAC can be established. You are allowed to refuse the test, but it may result in your license being suspended. If you take the test and fail, though, your license may still be suspended. No matter the outcome, a good lawyer will help you out with this.

If you refuse all the tests, the arresting officer may obtain a warrant that will force you to take the test. The one lucky thing about this is that it takes time which might be what is needed for your BAC to lower into the legal limit.

Exercise your right to remain silent during questioning. Contact your attorney immediately.

Yes, you definitely should. Simply taking the DWI charge and admitting defeat will result in the worst possible outcome. If you fight it, it will almost always yield better results by either having your case dismissed or having a reduction in charges.

Contact Us

Michael & Associates Criminal Defense Attorneys

2200 Post Oak Blvd 10th Floor 
Houston, TX 77056

(t) (713) 322-3965

Phone Call 24/7
In Person: By Appointment Only

Nearby Locations

Contact Us

Call For Free Case Review
Scroll to Top