Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

Award-Winning Dallas DWI Attorney

Charged with driving under the influence in Dallas? Talk to an attorney who can help.

A DWI in Dallas Costs Big Bucks.
Hire the Best Defense Team in Texas.

Facing DWI charges in Dallas?

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a criminal charge that is defined in the state of Texas as driving a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or above. More people in Dallas get charged with DWIs than you would think.

Despite being a common charge in the area, DWI charges, especially for repeated offenses, can ruin your life. Having one on your record leads to worse treatment by the state government and the Collin County court system.

Have no fear, though, Michael & Associates is here to make things easy for you while fighting by your side.

DWIs Are Expensive and Often Result in Jail Time

Just because a DWI is common in Dallas, it doesn't mean that you'll simply get a slap on the wrist and sent home. You could face some severe penalties if you do not put up a fight.

DWI conviction penalties in the DTX area are listed below:

1st Offense: 

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 3 and 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

2nd Offense:

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 1 and 12 months in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • A felony on your record

Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you may be hit with enhanced charges. This includes driving with children in the car while above the legal BAC limit.

It's Time to Fight

Social penalties will follow criminal ones if you are fully charged with a DWI. Your wallet will be hit hard by increased insurance rates, you may lose your ability to drive, and future employers will be less likely to hire you if you have a record.

You shouldn't throw your life away just because you made a mistake. Even if it's your second or third offense. The best course of action to safeguard your future is to hire a competent legal team. Get an attorney who knows DWI cases like the back of their hand.

Michael & Associates Is Here for You

Our team at Michael & Associates has been fighting DWI cases all over Texas for nearly a decade. We have fought hundreds of cases. We are proud to boast a high win rate. Most of our cases result in dismissals or reduced charges. Our clients always walk away satisfied.

It is our sacred duty at Michael & Associates to provide the best service throughout the state. We will treat you like a king or queen. Each case is handled like it's the only one in the world, so we can ensure the best results.

You can go to a larger, cheaper firm. You'll be shocked to find out that they can't live up to any promises they make for most clients. To them, you're simply a number. With us, however, your case is as important as if it were our own. Our managing partner, Ben Michael, will be at your beck and call to answer your questions and walk you through the case step-by-step.

We're here to take care of you. Fill out the contact form to schedule a free consultation. We'll go over your case together and get a head start on developing your DWI defense strategy. We love working with Dallasites.


If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Why we're the Right Dallas DWI Lawyer for You

Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Recent DWI Cases

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Allegations: Client was driving a few miles over the speed limit late at night coming home from a party. Police pulled him over and took him to the police station after he failed a field sobriety test.

Result: Case Dismissed

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Allegations: Client made an illegal turn at an intersection only half a mile away from her house. A police car was hidden nearby and the officer pulled her over. She refused to take a breathalyzer test and instead failed one after being taken into custody on her second DWI offense.

Result: Case Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Allegations: Client failed a breathalyzer test after being pulled over for swerving.

Result: Case Dismissed

How a Dallas DWI Conviction Affects Auto Insurance Rates

In Dallas, the average annual cost of car insurance is $816. For drivers with DWI convictions, the average annual cost of auto insurance is $1,175, an increase of $359.

Breakdown by Gender

Without DWI Conviction $828 $804
With DWI Conviction $1,192 $1,158
Increase $364 $354

Breakdown by Age

Without DWI Conviction $1,248 $792 $756 $684 $648 $696
With DWI Conviction $1,797 $1,140 $1,089 $985 $933 $1,002
Increase $549 $348 $333 $301 $285 $306

Don't Let a DWI Increase your Insurance Cost

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

Michael & Associates stands out from the rest of the pack, because we provide all of our clients with special treatment and give them the best results possible.

There are hundreds of lawyers in the Dallas area that will provide cheaper services, but "you get what you pay for" is an old saying for a reason. With them, you'll be treated poorly - your calls may be screened or returned late, and you may face the full amount of charges for your DWI. They take the path of least resistance.

At Michael & Associates, we strategize our case load. We won't take more than we can handle with full effort. That means we have the time to dedicate to you.

One of the perks of working with us is getting Ben Michael's personal cell phone number. You can text him at anytime whether it's 12:00 noon or midnight. Can the other firms promise anything close to that?

Not only will Ben be reachable, he will be your guide to understanding the best way to handle your DWI case. He walks you through everything step-by-step. He'll also provide emotional support as many of our clients struggle with the stress these cases bring.

We at Michael & Associates are experts in our field. We handle most criminal cases - both felonies and misdemeanors. We handle the following and more:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

While we are skilled, we stick to what we know best. We do not do:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

Driving While Intoxicated in Dallas

Whether you're in Dallas or on the other side of the state, Texas has the same limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) when driving. You will be charged with a DWI if you're caught with 0.08% or above BAC. The BAC is a measurement of how much of your blood is made up of alcohol. For example, 0.09% BAC means 0.09% of your blood is alcohol.

There is no cheat sheet or special limit for how many drinks it takes to put you over the BAC limit. A big football player and a tiny dancer will likely have different limits. It all depends on your age, size, how many drinks you've had, the strength of the drinks you've had, the time that passed between each drink and the time you started driving, and your tolerance to alcohol. If you're unsure if you're above the limit, it's a better idea to wait until you're sure of your sobriety before driving.

In Dallas and Collin County, you will receive different penalties depending on how strong your defense is and how many previous offenses you've had.

The First Offense brings:

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail with at least three being mandatory
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

The Second Offense brings:

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

The Third Offense brings:

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

Depending on the circumstances of the charges, additional penalties apply. In the case of driving with a minor in the car:

  • Additional fines up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

While the bulk of your chances in court depend on your defense team, there are steps you can take if you're pulled over to ensure a smoother time.

One of the most important tips for the whole ordeal is to remain as polite and level-headed as possible. Even if the police officer has a rude attitude with you, you should remain calm as it will reflect better on you in court especially if the interaction was filmed.

When being pulled over, find a safe place to park as soon as you can. Remember that real life is not an action movie - never try to evade the police as you can face life ruining criminal charges and harm yourself or others.

After being pulled over, the officer will approach your vehicle. He or she will ask for your license, registration, and proof of car insurance. Before reaching for these documents in a calm manner, let the officer know where they are. Do not do anything to scare or startle them.

Officers need a good reason to pull you over. They will most certainly ask if you know why you've been stopped. Never answer this question - even if you know you did something wrong, it is in your best interest to simply say "no sir" or "no ma'am" as it will aid in your defense.

The police will ask you to take a field sobriety test and/or a preliminary breathalyzer test. It is within your rights to refuse these initial tests. If you've been drinking that night, it is almost always a good idea to refuse the tests if you're not 100% sure you'll pass them. Simply let the officer know you do not wish to take the test and let them know you would prefer to speak to your attorney before taking any tests.

You can do everything right in these interactions and still end up at the police station. It is more likely to happen if you have been slurring your speech when talking with the officer or if you show any other visible signs of being drunk. Having an alcohol smell to your breath or clothing will also hurt your case.

Once you've been arrested, you are likely to be asked to take either a blood test or a breathalyzer to establish your BAC to see if it's over the legal limit. You can refuse this request, but it could lead to a suspension of your license. If you fail the test, though, it can also lead to the same result. Either way, your attorney will help guide you through your case to restore your license if this happens.

If you refuse all of the tests, a persistent officer may get a warrant to compel you to take them. This will take time and might lead to your BAC lowering to the legal limit before any tests can be taken.

Never answer anything during the questioning process beyond what is absolutely necessary without your lawyer being present. Request the ability to call your lawyer as soon as you can.

Yes. Even if you were caught with a high BAC, you should fight with a competent defense team at your side. Cases have been dismissed and charges have been minimized to almost nothing even in the worst cases when the person charged has put up a strong fight. These charges can determine the type of future you have - don't give up.

Helpful Locations for Dallas Residents

Dallas Courthouse
(214) 670-0109
2014 Main St
Dallas, TX 75201

Dallas Police Department
(214) 671-3001
1400 Botham Jean Blvd
Dallas, TX 75215

Alcohol Treatment Facility
(469) 299-4202
2222 McKinney Ave #160
Dallas, TX 75201

Department of Motor Vehicles
(972) 478-5200
1925 E. Beltline Rd., Suite 100
Carrollton, TX 75006

Nearby Locations

Call For Free Case Review
Scroll to Top