What is Nunc Pro Tunc? How to Fix a Clerical Mistake in a Court Order
As defense attorneys, we see courts make mistakes all the time. Nunc pro tunc orders allow the courts to fix clerical errors. The fixes apply retroactively.
Read More →Expert legal guidance and updates from our experienced attorneys
As defense attorneys, we see courts make mistakes all the time. Nunc pro tunc orders allow the courts to fix clerical errors. The fixes apply retroactively.
Read More →Though the penalties for a second DWI are more severe than those for a first offense, it’s still unlikely that you’ll serve more than 72 hours in jail.
Read More →Most first DWIs carry a $2,000 fine and a mandatory minimum of three days in jail, but statistics show that most first offenders only spend a few hours in jail.
Read More →The age of consent -- the age someone can legally consent to sexual activity in Texas -- is 17. However, the state's Romeo & Juliet Law offers some protections.
Read More →Texas’ Romeo & Juliet law helps teens under age 17 avoid criminal charges for having consensual sex with a peer, but the age gap must be no more than 3 …
Read More →Statistics show that about 37% of Americans drove while suspecting they were intoxicated, according to results from a DWI/DUI survey from Michael & Associates.
Read More →A mistrial is a do-over. If jurors can't reach a unanimous verdict or new evidence turns up, the process starts over. This is good news for the defense.
Read More →A protective order is issued by a court to protect someone in family violence cases from harassment or threats. It is different from a restraining order.
Read More →A DWI charge does not always result in a conviction. Statistics show the odds of dismissal in Texas range from 34% (for a 1st offense) to 6% (for a felony …
Read More →Clients should not write directly to a judge. However, if you're writing a character letter for someone else, you may be wondering how to address the judge.
Read More →New Texas drug laws revise penalties for drug and marijuana offenses and crack down on those who are accused of manufacturing or distributing fentanyl.
Read More →Is Delta-9 legal in Texas? Learn the 2026 rules for hemp THC, Delta-8, THCA, age limits, possession charges, drug tests, and DWI.
Read More →In Texas, robbery is a crime committed against another person. Burglary applies to buildings, vehicles, or structures. It doesn't require human interaction.
Read More →Texas has a zero-tolerance law for drivers under age 21, meaning it is illegal for them to drink alcohol unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse.
Read More →Many clients who have had their Texas driver’s licenses confiscated during a DWI stop don't know they can report it as lost and get a replacement. Here's how.
Read More →